The Final Countdown

Hey everyone!

Just 4 days until I move into my new residence hall at the University of Dayton!  I will be living and working in Marianist Hall.  I looked up the building on UD’s website and HOLY SHNIKEES. Just some perspective: I have worked in Commonwealth at NKU for two years. Anyone who went to NKU knows about the halls. They’re pretty tiny and old. Marianist Hall is beautiful. It was built in 2004 and houses first and second year students. It has a post office, bookstore, chapel, credit union, and dining location inside. I basically will live in the Mall of America!  Although I am looking forward to living there, the actual building is the smallest thing I am excited about.  I cannot wait to meet my staff, supervisors, RAs, and start working with students.  THAT is what I am most excited about!  My supervisor sent me a cool update today!  She went to NKU and was an RA!  Literally so excited about this.  I received the list of RAs I will be supervising.  There’s seven of them! This is about the amount of RAs that are in one building at NKU.  As scary as all this sounded at first, I can’t help but be extremely excited. I have an amazing opportunity to learn through practical experiences that will prepare me for my future career in student affairs after graduate school.

I received the outline of my training schedule for my position and all I can say is that it’s going to be a busy two weeks full of new knowledge and preparation!

Also, I registered for courses.  I am enrolled in three (normal amount for grad students).  Perspectives in Higher Ed, Student Development’s Role in Learning, and I forget the title of the third one (something about structure in postsecondary education). 

More cool stuff about UD that I found out: 12 places to eat on campus. Yes, TWELVE. Some are open until 1 AM. I am pumped.  Parking passes are cheaper than NKU’s parking passes.  The buildings are made out of brick (weird, I’ll have to get used to this).  Brown Street, near campus, has every food I have ever loved all on one street.  There’s a Taco Bell within walking distance (happy tears).  The people there are extremely nice.

I just thought I’d give you (the very small amount of people probably reading this) a quick update!  More posts to come probably during or after training.

Dayton, Here I come!

Thanks for reading,

Taylor

Standard

One thought on “The Final Countdown

  1. Emily says:

    Please keep up with this!! I am going to love learning about your journey and all the cool things about UD! (You sound exactly like I did when I was in shock about JMU things.)

Leave a comment